How To File A Claim — Illinois Workers’ CompensationEmployees go to work to make money for their families, but what happens when they get hurt on the job? Injuries that have long recovery times or end in permanent disability can really set a family back. Depending on the severity, you’re often dealing with some major financial detriments like missed work or medical expenses. Fortunately, in Illinois, employers are required by law to provide workers’ compensation benefits for their employees. These benefits are to include compensation such as:
- Reasonable medical care
- Vocational rehabilitation
- Weekly disability benefits
- and death benefits.
Filing A Workers’ Comp Claim (Step-by-Step)If you’ve been injured in a workplace accident, here’s EXACTLY how to file a claim:
- Seek Medical Attention — The FIRST thing you have to do after a workplace injury is to seek medical attention. Go to the hospital or schedule an appointment with a doctor as soon as possible. Suppose it’s a non-traumatic injury (carpal tunnel, mesothelioma, etc.). In that case, you’ll want to find a doctor you can work closely with who can help in potentially linking your injury to your workplace.
- Inform Your Employer — You’ll need to inform your employer of the injury or accident as soon as possible as there are specific deadlines. After a workplace accident, employees have only 45 days to inform their employer. In the case of slow-developing injuries, employees must report to their employer as soon as they become aware of the condition.
- Document Everything — Record the doctors you have seen, the expenses you have had (medical bills, prescriptions, etc.), create a daily log of your condition and its impact on your everyday life. This information will be useful if the insurance company is offering inadequate compensation.
- Stay in Contact with Your Employer — Try to maintain a constant channel of communication with your employer. They’ve likely got documentation they need to complete regularly to support the claims. Keep them updated as the condition of your injuries changes and your expected return to work date (if possible).
- Keep Checking on the Status of Your Claim — While you’re waiting for a response on your claim, you check its status on the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission website.
Finding The Best Belleville Workers’ Compensation LawyerThe lawyer you hire for your workers’ compensation claim can have a HUGE impact on your family’s financial future. You need to find a lawyer that will provide aggressive representation for you. Look for a law firm that always starts your case with a free evaluation and is available 24/7 to meet any client’s unique needs. The best Workers’ Compensation lawyers will only charge for their services once you are successfully awarded compensation.
TOP-RATED BELLEVILLE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LAWYER NEAR YOUChoosing a lawyer to fight for your rights and help you get the deserved compensation is an important decision. The Law Office of Jason B Going is experienced and proven when it comes to workers’ compensation cases, and they will give you the best chance at a favorable outcome in your case. If you have sustained injury or illness in the workplace, we can help get you the compensation you truly deserve. Contact us today for a free consultation.
No matter what life throws your way, get GOING.
If you were injured in a workplace accident, you must report your injuries to your employer within 45 days. However, if you believe that you’ve acquired an injury that’s developed over a period of time - due to your work environment or duties - you must report to your employer as soon as you become aware of the condition.
Absolutely. Both the employer or the insurance company can deny a claim for a number of reasons. Some of the common reasons for a refusal are:
The accident didn’t happen during working hours.
The employee did not receive medical attention.
There was a pre-existing condition that caused the injury.
The employee was irresponsible at the time of the accident.
There are a lot of reasons why a claim might be disputed. If you feel that your claim was wrongfully denied, call a lawyer.
If your claim is denied, you’ll have to file an appeal. The courts will appoint an arbitrator to review your claim, ask you questions, and conduct their assessment. Now is the time when a lawyer can be extremely beneficial.