Death Claims and Benefits — Illinois Workers’ Compensation Claims
Have you lost a loved one to a workplace accident? We are terribly sorry for your loss. Our compassionate lawyer is here to represent your family and help you with the death claims and benefits of your loved one.They’ve dedicated time and energy into their job to support family, and it resulted in a fatal experience. Nothing can compare to the loss of a loved one. No monetary amount could ever truly be compensatory. The amount of grief a family experiences is incalculable. Not to mention the sudden reduction in a family’s income, which can be incredibly disruptive. Paying bills, supporting family, maintaining your lifestyle — these things are hard to do after the loss of a working family member. Generally, the beneficiaries will receive monthly death benefits based on the deceased worker’s average weekly wage (AWW). The last 52 weeks of the employee’s regular earnings are used to calculate the AWW. Death benefits can be received for up to 25 years or once the compensation amount paid out has reached $500,000. The family will also receive a funeral and burial compensation amount, which is currently $8,000. If you’ve lost a loved one due to an accident at work or occupational disease, you may be entitled to receive benefits through a workers’ compensation claim. Our experienced lawyer will guide you through death claims and benefits with the employer and the insurance company. Trust our team to fight for justice for you or your loved ones — Schedule a free consultation today.
How To File For Death Claims And BenefitsThe loss of a loved one is traumatic. The last thing family wants to deal with is insurance adjusters and lawyers while fighting for the benefits their loved one is entitled to. The family will need to file an adjustment application through the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission. The claim must be filed within 3 years of the employee’s death. This is not always an easy process to do on your own. It can be an emotional rollercoaster. It’s important to make sure that your loved one’s rights and wishes are respected and that the family gets exactly what they are entitled to. If you are ready to file for death claims and benefits for your loved one, contact an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer. It’s a free consultation. Take the time to understand the process and ensure you do your loved one justice.
Finding The Best Belleville Workers’ Compensation LawyerThe lawyer you hire for your workers’ compensation claim can have a HUGE impact on your family’s financial future. You need to find a lawyer that will provide aggressive representation for you. Look for a law firm that always starts your case with a free evaluation and is available 24/7 to meet any client’s unique needs. The best Workers’ Compensation lawyers will only charge for their services once you are successfully awarded compensation.
TOP-RATED BELLEVILLE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LAWYER NEAR YOUChoose a lawyer to fight for your family’s rights and help you get the benefits you are entitled to. The Law Office of Jason B Going is experienced and proven when it comes to workers’ compensation cases. They will give you the best chance of being awarded the maximum compensation. If you have lost a loved one due to injury or illness in the workplace, we can help you pursue death claims and benefits for your loved ones. Contact us today for a free consultation.
No matter what life throws your way, get GOING.
If you’ve been receiving death benefits for a loved one that was lost in a workplace accident and you decide to remarry, the benefits will be terminated. If there are eligible children at the time you remarry, the benefits may be transferred. When the benefits are terminated, you’ll be paid out a settlement worth 2 years of benefits, and the claim will be closed out.
If you intend to file for death benefits after losing a loved one, you must do so within a specific period of time. After the employee’s death, you will have to file an application for a death claim within 3 years to avoid forfeiting benefits.
Generally, the order of beneficiaries starts with the surviving spouse and dependant children under the age of 18. If there are no primary beneficiaries available, death benefits can go to dependant parents or other loved ones who were at least 50% financially dependant on the deceased employee.